• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 341 other followers

  • Douglas Daech


    Born near Detroit Michigan and transplanted to Tampa Florida in 1982, where he located the story called “Steeling Time”, the author now resides in Russellville, Kentucky.

    His past experience includes articles in the Tripolitan, (Journal of the Tripoli Rocket Association, June 1991) and TRASH (Tampa Regional Aero-Space Hobbyist). In 1993 and 1994 many articles were published in the Unauthorized Launch, the Tampa Tripoli High Power Rocket Club newsletter. A science fiction piece was also presented in the online magazine NTH Degree (May, 2004). Also, an award for creative nonfiction was granted in the 2007 Frank and Cellia Conley Writing Contest at Western Kentucky University

  • Links

  • Book Page

  • Book & Movie Reviews

  • Author/Publisher Newsletter

Flames are shooting out of my computer!

Flames are shooting out of my computer and it’s not because I’m writing my bottom off! In fact, I have not been doing much writing at all. It seems that I have come to the realization that promoting my writing takes more time then the actual writing. Add to that the fact that I still work about 40 hours a week, have a family to care for, a yard and garden to tend, plus other chores. I find time is just too short! The flames inside my computer are from it overheating because it is sitting idle in the 100 degree weather we are having. Boy! It’s hot! I’m wondering if my AC is broke, and taking a few minutes to write this before I head into another project around the house. My list is long with everything from trimming some trees and cleaning some gutters to cleaning up the pool (then jumping in)! But first, a little on-line time. Most of my computer time is spent trying to enlarge my digital footprint, promote the e-book and learn the writing business.

I just spent some time cleaning the comment from the blog. I had over 400 spam blog comments on my Nashville Pickers post. I have learned that spamming blogs with a link and address back to your site or business is a common element in promotion. I have not taken this approach of promotion yet, perhaps I should start. In seven months I have had only 46 downloads of my e-book and many of those were during my free e-book week. I have been tweeting it up. I have been facebooking promos on my pages and I have been trying to keep an active blog. At least a little! I hate the idea of spamming a false comment and linking up to someone who doesn’t even have an interest in my work. It just seems so spammy! And besides, it wont work. Any comments that get on my site I have to approve. I allow them to be seen. Any spamming of my own work would also be filtered.

On the twitter I have found groups that you join and give them you books information and links. Maybe they read it maybe they don’t. The deal is that once you join your book will be tweeted about my the other members a few times a day, and you get a list of a few books that you tweet up and promote. It gets links to your book site plastered all over the web in multiple locations. I guess a book promoter would do the same thing. The advertisements for television, books and other entertainment items that are plastered on billboards, newspapers, and TV are just paid-for adverts. The guy that made the promo could care less if the product is really good. Still, I’m not sure if I like the idea of someone who didn’t read my book saying that it was the best thing he ever read! What do you think about this?

I guess the question is the same that has challenged all authors since the beginning of time. How do you get someone to buy your book (or even read it for free)? If you are one of the 46 that have downloaded my book, Time Travels and Dimensional Journeys, please write a review, tell a friend about it, tweet a little tweet. Spread the word!

 

Leave a Reply

