• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 320 other followers

  • Douglas Daech


    Born near Detroit Michigan and transplanted to Tampa Florida in 1982, where he located the story called “Steeling Time”, the author now resides in Russellville, Kentucky.

    His past experience includes articles in the Tripolitan, (Journal of the Tripoli Rocket Association, June 1991) and TRASH (Tampa Regional Aero-Space Hobbyist). In 1993 and 1994 many articles were published in the Unauthorized Launch, the Tampa Tripoli High Power Rocket Club newsletter. A science fiction piece was also presented in the online magazine NTH Degree (May, 2004). Also, an award for creative nonfiction was granted in the 2007 Frank and Cellia Conley Writing Contest at Western Kentucky University

  • Links

  • Book Page

  • Book & Movie Reviews

  • Author/Publisher Newsletter

Philomina Movie Review

I didn’t know what to expect when I went to see Philomina, I had not seen any of the trailers.   I didn’t know what the story was or where the story line would go, and I didn’t know it was based on true events. I went to the theater with my lovely wife who wanted to see it.  But, from the beginning It totally captured me.

I’ve always like Judi Dench, who unknowingly to me was a major player in the film.  She, as always was spectacular, I never doubted her character.  In fact, the next day when I researched the movie on the internet I saw photos of the real Philomina Lee, I could’t see her as the character, Judi Dench was just right.

Spoiler alert!  The story was a real tear jerker, as true stories are.  It tore my heart out.  Philomina never got to meet her adult son.  Adoption often creates a life long search for family.  Many end just this sad. This one came full circle as we searched across two countries to bring the family together.  The story was told well, but there were a couple jumps and knocks in the story line.  I would have liked a little more development of the adult adopted sister character.  It would have helped the viewer understand the mental state she was in.  I did think it was strange that she never asked about her own mother, perhaps that was enough of a hint that she wasn’t quite right in the head.  Also, the lost boy’s partner didn’t reveal much of a character at all.

Even with the little problems I saw that matter to me, the story made a good film and was worth the price to see it.  If you have a little time, and need an emotional bump to  move your heart I recommend Philomina.

Leave a Reply

