• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 341 other followers

  • Douglas Daech


    Born near Detroit Michigan and transplanted to Tampa Florida in 1982, where he located the story called “Steeling Time”, the author now resides in Russellville, Kentucky.

    His past experience includes articles in the Tripolitan, (Journal of the Tripoli Rocket Association, June 1991) and TRASH (Tampa Regional Aero-Space Hobbyist). In 1993 and 1994 many articles were published in the Unauthorized Launch, the Tampa Tripoli High Power Rocket Club newsletter. A science fiction piece was also presented in the online magazine NTH Degree (May, 2004). Also, an award for creative nonfiction was granted in the 2007 Frank and Cellia Conley Writing Contest at Western Kentucky University

  • Links

  • Book Page

  • Book & Movie Reviews

  • Author/Publisher Newsletter

Our talk with Christie Golden

Recently I had the honor of attending a writer’s talk by New York best-selling author Christie Golden. Fans of Sci-fi and Fantasy may recognize her name. She currently has 48 books in print, and there is new work that should release soon. The talk was offered by the Clarksville Writers Meet-Up, a small group of writers that meet to compare notes, critique work and socialize. We really appreciate that she took the time to visit us.

Christie explained that she started her career as a fan of Sci-fi and Fantasy but didn’t expect to write media tie-in books. She entered a contest sponsored by TSR, the distributor of the Dungeon and Dragon roll playing games, to create a story that meld horror and fantasy. Ravenloft won and launched her career. The rest is history. Christie Golden has written media tie-in books to please fans of Star Trek and Star Wars as well as spin offs from games World of Warcraft, StarCraft and Assassin’s Creed. She explained that it is tough for new writers to enter the media tie-in field. Experience and references play a huge part in landing new projects, and the work seems to be mostly on assignment.

Christie told stories of her early writing days and offered insights and tips on making a successful writing career. She pointed out several good web-sites for writers and suggested rules when selecting what contest to enter. She warned that there are a lot of scams targeting eager writers. Be sure your offers and contests are from respected organizations or well known writers conferences. She has known several editors who have found new talent at conferences, so don’t hesitate to get involved, do public readings and meet the people there.

Write from your heart, she suggests. Don’t write in a style or subject matter with the goal of getting published inside the current fad. Editors have a glut of that type of work. Do something different that means something to you. Your work might be the next fad. It’s always better to be on the crest of the wave, rather than swimming with a million other fishes. Something new and different may catch the editor’s eye.

Regarding editors and agents, Christie Golden suggested that you follow their directions when making submissions. Don’t offer too much information or samples. Give them what they ask for. Be ready to react when they contact you with a completed manuscript, and don’t waste their time. Christie reminded us that your agents and editors are sticking their neck out presenting your work to their bosses. If they believe in your work, trust them to do their job. She also comments that a bad agent is worse than no agent at all. Never pay an agent. They work for you!

Christie Golden commented that the opinions of editors and agents are a mix bag regarding self publishing. Some agents and publishers say that the indie-author is too independent and wants too much control, making them hard to work with. Others say that the indie-author books and e-books are the new slush pile. They don’t mind working with them. Still others just won’t contract with indie-authors because they are indie-authors. It’s a true mix of feelings.

Christie was a pleasant speaker with a strong message. She urged the group to follow their heart and write what they enjoy writing. It will be your best work, and will truly be your voice. Don’t try to be something you are not. Christie offered insight, comment and stories of real life experience. That’s something that new authors want to hear. She also offered a variety of books for sale. Star Trek, Star Wars and many out of print or hard to locate editions were available. Prices ranged from under $10 to $50. She was happy to sign what you purchased or brought to the event. I’m sure everyone enjoyed the presentation on her career, and the craft of writing.

You can view the Christie Golden website at:   http://www.christiegolden.com/index.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: