• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 341 other followers

  • Douglas Daech


    Born near Detroit Michigan and transplanted to Tampa Florida in 1982, where he located the story called “Steeling Time”, the author now resides in Russellville, Kentucky.

    His past experience includes articles in the Tripolitan, (Journal of the Tripoli Rocket Association, June 1991) and TRASH (Tampa Regional Aero-Space Hobbyist). In 1993 and 1994 many articles were published in the Unauthorized Launch, the Tampa Tripoli High Power Rocket Club newsletter. A science fiction piece was also presented in the online magazine NTH Degree (May, 2004). Also, an award for creative nonfiction was granted in the 2007 Frank and Cellia Conley Writing Contest at Western Kentucky University

  • Links

  • Book Page

  • Book & Movie Reviews

  • Author/Publisher Newsletter

  • Advertisements

A question to readers…

old typwriter I believe it was Stephen Foster who said that a story is not written it is rewritten. I remember the quote from a poster in my high school English class, so the quote may not be exactly correct. That was a long time ago!  But, things have not changed much.  Stories are still being rewritten. The computer and word processors makes it easier, thank goodness, but the authors dilemma of what revision makes the best story is still a hard question. Additionally, agents and readers are always making suggestions on what they think would be better.

Currently I’m working on a story that is a comedy, but is not full of side splitting laughs. The classic description of a comedy is a conflict that is overcome and the main character succeeds and survives the challenge. My hero does have a happy ending, overcoming challenges both emotional and physical to win the day. It is almost a fairy tale happy ending, and from the beginning was planned to be exactly that.

But, maybe the ending is too sugar coated. Recently a completely different ending was proposed. It’s an ending that dramatically changes the story into a classic tragedy where the hero loses his battle. In fact in this ending he loses everything. It turns the story into a dark tale with a sad ending. It leaves the reader shocked and perhaps with the question of what happens next. It opens the option for a sequel and sequels in fiction are so popular these days.

What type of books do you like?  Are you always looking for a happy ending? Does a dark sad ending leave a bad feeling in your heart?  Would you be less likely to read another book by this author?  That’s really the question here. Is a sad surprise ending something you would enjoy? Does a story, where after chapters of learning to like a character, you see him fall victim to his adversary appeal to you?  What ending should I go with? I wonder.

Please respond here with your thoughts.

you can view my published work at: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/dugger50

Advertisements

Our talk with Christie Golden

Recently I had the honor of attending a writer’s talk by New York best-selling author Christie Golden. Fans of Sci-fi and Fantasy may recognize her name. She currently has 48 books in print, and there is new work that should release soon. The talk was offered by the Clarksville Writers Meet-Up, a small group of writers that meet to compare notes, critique work and socialize. We really appreciate that she took the time to visit us.

Christie explained that she started her career as a fan of Sci-fi and Fantasy but didn’t expect to write media tie-in books. She entered a contest sponsored by TSR, the distributor of the Dungeon and Dragon roll playing games, to create a story that meld horror and fantasy. Ravenloft won and launched her career. The rest is history. Christie Golden has written media tie-in books to please fans of Star Trek and Star Wars as well as spin offs from games World of Warcraft, StarCraft and Assassin’s Creed. She explained that it is tough for new writers to enter the media tie-in field. Experience and references play a huge part in landing new projects, and the work seems to be mostly on assignment.

Christie told stories of her early writing days and offered insights and tips on making a successful writing career. She pointed out several good web-sites for writers and suggested rules when selecting what contest to enter. She warned that there are a lot of scams targeting eager writers. Be sure your offers and contests are from respected organizations or well known writers conferences. She has known several editors who have found new talent at conferences, so don’t hesitate to get involved, do public readings and meet the people there.

Write from your heart, she suggests. Don’t write in a style or subject matter with the goal of getting published inside the current fad. Editors have a glut of that type of work. Do something different that means something to you. Your work might be the next fad. It’s always better to be on the crest of the wave, rather than swimming with a million other fishes. Something new and different may catch the editor’s eye.

Regarding editors and agents, Christie Golden suggested that you follow their directions when making submissions. Don’t offer too much information or samples. Give them what they ask for. Be ready to react when they contact you with a completed manuscript, and don’t waste their time. Christie reminded us that your agents and editors are sticking their neck out presenting your work to their bosses. If they believe in your work, trust them to do their job. She also comments that a bad agent is worse than no agent at all. Never pay an agent. They work for you!

Christie Golden commented that the opinions of editors and agents are a mix bag regarding self publishing. Some agents and publishers say that the indie-author is too independent and wants too much control, making them hard to work with. Others say that the indie-author books and e-books are the new slush pile. They don’t mind working with them. Still others just won’t contract with indie-authors because they are indie-authors. It’s a true mix of feelings.

Christie was a pleasant speaker with a strong message. She urged the group to follow their heart and write what they enjoy writing. It will be your best work, and will truly be your voice. Don’t try to be something you are not. Christie offered insight, comment and stories of real life experience. That’s something that new authors want to hear. She also offered a variety of books for sale. Star Trek, Star Wars and many out of print or hard to locate editions were available. Prices ranged from under $10 to $50. She was happy to sign what you purchased or brought to the event. I’m sure everyone enjoyed the presentation on her career, and the craft of writing.

You can view the Christie Golden website at:   http://www.christiegolden.com/index.html

Ghosts walk among us

People who have had near death experiences claim that they have seen loved ones welcoming them to the afterlife.   Some people say the soul never dies.  The physical being is left behind and the spirit realm is entered.  The spirit, or soul, continues after it leaves the body and joins the countless other souls on the other side, wherever that is.

It is said that the soul ascends to heaven, or possibly descends to hell.  The up or down reference is easy to understand, polar opposites that represent good or evil.  More likely though is the theory that a soul travels a distance much less.  Perhaps they only change spiritual levels.  The spirit level is most easily understood as existing on a higher frequency, invisible to the beings on the physical level.  So, it is possible that our beloveds soul live side by side with us.  We are just out of reach and out of sight from each other.  They are close, but yet so far away.

 

In Seedy Hills, an odd little townEric and Louanne go to the old hospital after construction workers claimed that it was haunted.  Louanne, being an experience ghost hunter, took two pieces of equipment that would assist them.  First, she took an EVP recorder. (Electronic Voice Phenomenon)   This device records voices that the human ear cannot hear.  It is commonly used by ghost hunters today.  The second tool that she took to the old hospital was the EMF sensor.  Electro-magnetic disturbances have been noted to be common occurrences when ghostly encounters take place.  These gizmos reach out and read frequencies that people cannot hear or see.

A ghost may actually be a soul that travels from one realm to another, or one frequency of existence to another.  Many think that traumatic events or emotion of love or rage may affect the spirit so strongly it causes the soul’s frequency to oscillate, allowing it to exist in both realms.  This occurs in The Sexton House story contained in the E-book Seedy Hills, an odd little town.  In this account of the haunting, young Connie Gill was struck dead by lightning after an angry argument with her father.  Because of her rage at the time of her death she is cursed to haunt the old sexton house for a hundred years.

You can pre-order the E-book Seedy Hills, an odd little town at Apple, Barns & Noble and Kobo book stores online.

Seedy Cover Daech 1600x2600rez

KOBO Books  http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/seedy-hills-an-odd-little-town

Barns & Noble  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/seedy-hills-an-odd-little-town-douglas-daech/1119786702?ean=2940046016246

For Apple search “Seedy Hills” in your iTunes store.

%d bloggers like this: